Aruba Instant On Help Center
You are here: Mobile Help > Managing Clients > Client Details

Viewing AP Clients

The Client Details page provides additional information about the clients in your network.

To view the Client Details page for a specific client, follow these steps:

1. Click the Clients () tile on the Instant On home page. The Clients page is displayed.

2. Click the () icon beside the client name from the Connected clients list. The Client Details page for the selected client is displayed.

For more information, refer to Client Details Information.

Viewing Details of Active Clients

The following information is available on the Client Details page. For details on the client information preceding the Client Details page in the Aruba Instant On mobile app, see Client Details Information.

Table 1: Client Details Information

Parameter

Description

Name

Denotes the name of the client.

IP Address

Denotes the IP address of the client.

NOTE: Not displayed by default. See Viewing AP Clients for details on displaying this parameter on the Clients page.

OS

Operating system (OS) of the client device.

NOTE: Not displayed by default. See Viewing AP Clients for details on displaying this parameter on the Clients page.

Network

Shows the network to which the client is connected. Click the network name to view the Network Details page. See Employee Network for more details on the Main Network Details page, or Guest Network for more details on the Guest Network Details page.

Device

Shows the access point to which the client is connected. Click the device name to view the Access Point Details page. See Access Point Details for more details on the Access Point Details page.

Duration

Denotes the amount of time that the client has been connected to the network.

Signal

Indicates the client signal quality, based on the client’s Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR). See Table 2 for details on the different signal qualities.

MAC Address

Denotes the MAC address of the client.

Downloading

Shows the download throughput within the last 30 seconds, in bytes per second.

Uploading

Shows the upload throughput within the last 30 seconds, in bytes per second.

Top Application Category

Shows the most frequently used application type.

Applications Chart

Shows the application usage data for the selected client, in bytes. In the Aruba Instant On mobile app, tap the donut chart preceding Transferred to open the Applications chart for the client.

Transferred

Shows the total amount of data transferred during the client session, in bytes.

Table 2: Signal Quality

Signal Quality

Icon

Signal Strength

Good

30 dB or higher

Fair

16 dB—29 dB

Poor

15 dB or lower

Viewing Application Information for a Specific Client

You can view the application usage information for a specific client in your network by selecting a client from the Clients list. See Viewing Application Information for details on the type of application usage information that is displayed.

To view application information for a specific client in the Instant On mobile app, follow these steps:

1. Tap Clients on the Instant On home screen. The Clients screen opens.

2. Select a client from the Connected clients list to open the Client Details screen.

3. Tap the donut chart preceding Transferred to open the Applications chart for the selected client.

Blocking and Unblocking Clients

The Instant On mobile app allows you to block clients from associating with any of the APs on site. Each client can only be blocked manually using the Instant On mobile app. Client blocking is possible only for clients who are already connected to the network. At any point in time, you may choose to unblock a blocked client by visiting the Blocked Clients list.

Follow these steps to block a client from accessing the network:

1. Tap or click on the Clients () tile in the Instant On homepage of the Instant On mobile app. The list of connected clients is displayed.

2. From the list of Connected clients, block the client which should not be allowed to access the network.

Swipe from right to left on the client from the connected client list and tap on the block icon. The client is immediately blocked and moved to the Blocked clients list. Alternatively, you can also block clients from the Client Details screen by clicking the advanced menu icon () and selecting Block client.

Follow these steps to unblock a blocked client:

1. Tap or click on the Clients () tile in the Instant On homepage of the Instant On mobile app. The list of connected clients is displayed. Tap the Blocked clients tab in the Clients page. The blocked clients appear grayed out.

2. From the list of Blocked clients, unblock the clients you wish to provide access to the network again. The clients should be able to immediately access the network once they are unblocked.

Tap the client you want to unblock. A pop-up box appears on the screen with client's name for confirmation. Tap Unblock. The client is immediately unblocked and moved to the Connected clients list. Alternatively, you can also unblock the client by swiping from right to left on the client and tapping the unblock icon.

/*]]>*/