Aruba Instant On Help Center
You are here: Web Help > Configuring Networks > Wired Network

Wired Network

The wired network is suitable for users whose network infrastructure is focused mainly on the onboarding of Instant On switches. Choosing the wired-only option during the initial setup automatically creates a default wired network. The default network has a management VLAN whose value is read-only. The default wired network that was created during initial setup cannot be deleted unless you choose to delete the site entirely from your account. Once the initial setup is complete, you can use the following procedure to create up to a maximum of 22 wired networks for a site.

The following procedure creates a wired network:

  1. Click the Networks tile on the Instant On web application home page. The Networks page is displayed.
  2. Click + Add and select Wired as Network type under the Identification tab.
  3. Under Identification tab, Enter a Network name for the network.
  4. Enter a VLAN for your network.
  5. Click Save.

Modifying the Network Name or VLAN ID

To modify the wired network:

  1. Click Networks tile on the Instant On home screen. The Networks page is displayed.
  2. Select the wired network from the Networks.
  3. Under Identification tab, enter a new name under Network name to change the main network name or enter a new VLAN to change the VLAN ID.
  4. Click Save.

 

If the selected wired network is a default network, then you cannot modify your Management VLAN.

Enabling or Disabling a Wired Network

The following procedure enables or disables a wired network:

  1. Click Networks tile on the Instant On home screen. The Networks page is displayed.
  2. Select the wired network from the Networks.
  3. Under Identification tab, slide the toggle switch to the right to set the network to Active (), or to the left to set the network to Inactive ().

 

The default wired network is used to manage the Instant On device and does not have the option to be enabled or disabled.

Important Points to Note:

  • Deactivating the wired network means that no wired network station will be able to connect. The network will be shut down at the port level and would not be able to pass traffic anymore. The network is removed from all the wired ports.

  • Deactivating a wired-network that has one or more associated wireless-network(s) displays a dialog box indicating that all the wireless networks and associated clients will be disconnected from the network. Click Deactivate to continue this operation.
  • Re-activating a wireless-network on a wired-network that was previously deactivated displays a dialog box indicating that the associated wired-network will also be activated. Click Activate to continue this operation.

  • Re-activating a wired-network that has one or more associated wireless-networks, activates the associated-wireless networks as well. Click Activate to continue this operation.
/*]]>*/